Have questions? You're in the right place.

Return to Georgia Drivers Ed

Click on a question for more info.

1. How does online drivers ed work?

It's simple. After you create an account (it takes less than a minute), you're all set to start your Georgia drivers ed course. You can pay right away or you can take up to 20% of the course before you make up your mind. Either way, you'll be on the road to satisfying your Georgia drivers education requirement.

Your course is available to you online 24/7. That means you can log in and out whenever you want and from any computer that has Internet access! When you log back in, we'll take you back to the exact place you left off. Doesn't that sound better than spending your weekends in a classroom?

At the end of the course, there'll be a final exam so you can measure how much you've learned. Don't worry though—you can take it as many times as you need in order to pass. Once you pass the test, we'll send your Certificate of Completion within 2 business days. We usually send your certificate by email, but you can choose First Class Mail at no extra charge, or upgrade to FedEx for a fee.

2. How does the Georgia drivers license process work?

1. Study for the Georgia learners permit

In order to get a Georgia learners permit and ultimately a Georgia drivers license, everyone no matter how old must pass a written test on traffic laws and signs. 70% of test-takers fail on their first try and end up returning to the DDS.

A proven way to increase your chances of passing your learners permit test is with up-to-date online Georgia DDS practice permit tests. Randomly generated questions test your driving knowledge and prepare you for the real deal.

Fifty online practice permit tests come free with our Georgia drivers education course or can be purchased separately. Note: these practice permit tests are for the purpose of preparing you for your learners permit written exam only.

2. Apply for the Georgia learners permit

When you are ready to take your written permit test, just walk in to your local DDS location with a parent or guardian—there's no need to make an appointment.

To be eligible for the Georgia learners permit, you must:

  • Be at least 15 years old.
  • Provide acceptable forms of personal identification that include your full name and date of birth, such as:
    • Original birth certificate (State issued)
    • Certified copy of birth certificate (with seal)
    • Certificate of birth registration
    • Certified copy of court records (adoption, name changes, or sex changes)
    • Certified naturalization records
    • Immigration I.D. card
    • Valid passport
    • U.S. citizens must furnish proof of citizenship. Non-U.S. citizens must present proper USCIS documentation.
  • Submit a Social Security number.
  • Submit a Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form signed and notarized from a school. All applicants under the age of 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from your local Board of Education if enrolled in an approved home school program.
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass a knowledge test.
  • Pay a $10 application fee.

Once you pass the vision and knowledge tests, you will be issued a learners permit.

Note: There must be a licensed driver who is at least 21 in the front seat next to you at all times. The learners permit is valid for 24 months.

3. Complete a DDS-approved Georgia drivers education course

According to Joshua's Law, beginning January 1, 2007, all 16-year-olds applying for a Class D license must:

  • Complete a state-approved Georgia drivers education course that includes 30 hours of classroom instruction and also complete 6 hours of in-car driving lessons.
  • Complete a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, including at least 6 hours at night. A Certificate of Completion from a drivers education school must be presented at the time of your drivers license application. Note: completion of the DDS approved Parent-Teen Driving Guide will serve as an affidavit that this requirement has been met; if you obtain the behind-the-wheel component of drivers education from a certified instructor, a separate document affirming that this requirement has been met must be completed at the time of the road test.
  • Have held their learners permit for one year and a day.
  • If you have not completed an approved driver education course, you cannot obtain a Class D license until you reach the age of 17.

Take your 30-hour classroom portion of drivers education online with LearnersPermit.com and receive an official Certificate of Completion. The LearnersPermit.com Georgia drivers education course is approved by the State of Georgia and the DDS (Department of Driver Services) and satisfies the 30-hour drivers education classroom requirement of Joshua's Law.

4. Take the driving test for your Georgia drivers license

When you are ready to take the driving test, make an appointment at your local DDS location. You can call 678-413-8400 or 678-413-8500 and select option 3. If you live outside metro-Atlanta but in Georgia, you can call 866-754-3687.

To be eligible for the Georgia drivers license:

  • Be at least 16 years old.
  • Have held a learners permit for a year and a day.
  • Effective January 1st, 2007, 16-year-olds must be in compliance with Joshua's Law. This means that, if you are under 17, you must present a Certificate of Completion of drivers education for 30 hours of classroom instruction (or online instruction) and 6 hours of in-car driving lessons.
  • Submit your Social Security number.
  • If you are under 18, a parent or legal guardian must sign an affidavit that the applicant has completed at least 40 hours of on-the-road driving experience (6 hours of which was at night) with a parent or guardian. The 40-hour requirement is in addition to the driving completed with an instructor during an approved driver education class (if under 17).
  • At the time of the road test examination, a parent or legal guardian with a Georgia Drivers License or ID Card will have to sign for you. The legal guardian must have a certified guardianship paper from court or adoption papers with an embossed court seal.
  • A Georgia DDS Certificate of Attendance form must be signed and notarized from your school. It is only valid for 30 days. All applicants under 18 not enrolled in school must provide a GED diploma, high school diploma, or an attendance form from the local Board of Education if enrolled in an approved home school program.
  • You must have the Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP) card.
  • Applicant will be required to pass a vision and a driving test.
  • The vehicle the driver is testing in must be properly insured, registered, have a valid tag, and must pass a safety inspection. You will be asked to show a valid insurance card. You may not take the test in a rental car.

Once you pass your road test, you'll be issued a Class D license, which is a provisional license.

The Class D license has the following restrictions:

  • No driving between 12:00 midnight and 6:00 a.m.
  • During the first six months following issuance, only immediate family members may ride in the vehicle.
  • During the second six months following issuance, only one unrelated passenger under 21 years of age may ride in the vehicle.
  • After the first and second six-month periods, only three unrelated passengers under 21 years of age may ride in the vehicle.

To upgrade from a Class D license to a Class C license, a Class D license holder must be free from any convictions of major traffic violations that result in the mandatory suspension of the license for 12 months preceding the application.

3. As a parent, how do I qualify for the $150 state tax credit?

Under code section 48-7-29.5(a), if a dependent minor child of a Georgia taxpayer completes a driver ed program, the taxpayer is entitled to a tax credit of up to $150.

A copy of the Certificate of Completion and proof of the fees paid for the course will be required to qualify for the credit. The amount of the credit is equal to $150 or the actual amount paid for the course, whichever is less. In essence, receiving the tax credit is like being reimbursed in full for this drivers ed course.

Please note that to complete the driver education requirements, this online program must be taken in conjunction with 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training with an approved school or with the Parent/Teen Driving Guide, which is available as a free download here.

4. Who must take Georgia drivers education?

If you're between the ages of 15 and 17 and planning to obtain a Georgia drivers license, you'll need to complete a DDS-approved drivers education course.

LearnersPermit.com's online course is DDS-approved and fulfills the Georgia drivers education requirement under Joshua's Law. But no matter how old you are, if you want to learn about driving in Georgia and plan to obtain a Georgia drivers license, you can take this course.

5. Does the LearnersPermit.com course satisfy DDS requirements?

Yes. Our course is approved by the State of Georgia, the DDS (Department of Driver Services), and is equivalent to the regular 30-hour in-class drivers education course.

Note: Please have your Georgia learners permit number available for course registration.

6. What is the difference between drivers education and drivers training?

Drivers education: a course that teaches you the rules of the road, vehicle safety, and everything that you need to know before you get behind the wheel for the first time. LearnersPermit.com provides a DDS-approved drivers education course. In Georgia, every new driver under 17 years old must take a 30-hour drivers education course.

Drivers training: the in-car driving lessons that you take with a licensed driving instructor. In Georgia, if you are under 17, you must take 6 hours of drivers training.* You can find a local driving school here.

*Note: if you are participating in Parent-Taught Drivers Education, your parent/guardian can provide the 6 hours of drivers training.

7. What is the supervised driving period?

If you're under 18, once you have your learners permit, you'll have to practice driving for at least 12 months before you apply for your Georgia drivers license. During this time, you must complete at least 40 hours (6 at night) of supervised driving with a licensed parent/legal guardian or licensed adult who is at least 21 years old.

The practice driving must be logged in the 40 Hour Driving Log which your parent/legal guardian must sign when you apply for your drivers license. Find the log in the 40 Hour Parent Teen Driving Guide.

8. How much does the course cost?

The cost for the Georgia drivers education online course is $49.00

9. Can I try the Georgia course before I pay?

Of course! You can take up to 20% of the course before you will need to make a payment in order to continue with the course.

10. How long will it take for me to finish the course?

This will vary depending on your individual pace. By Georgia law, all drivers education courses must be at least 30 hours. The good news is that with LearnersPermit.com, you can always go at your pace and log in and out at your convenience. Think how fast time can fly if you do 20 minutes here and there!

11. How do I access the 50 free practice permit tests?

After you pay for the course, your free practice permit tests will be accessible in your account.

12. When will I receive my Certificate of Completion?

After you complete the LearnersPermit.com course, we will send you a Certificate of Completion by email within 2 business days of your course completion. You can also request to have your certificate sent to you free of charge by First Class Mail.

If you need a hardcopy of the certificate faster, you can upgrade to FedEx shipping for an additional charge.
FedEx 3 day= $15
FedEx Overnight= $25

Please note that FedEx does not deliver to P.O. Boxes.

13. How can I change the delivery method of my Certificate of Completion?

You can change your delivery method online in your account or by calling us at 1-877-410-2454.

14. How do I get a duplicate copy of my Certificate of Completion?

If you lose your certificate, you can request a duplicate by calling us at 1-877-410-2454.

15. Will I need to take drivers training after I take this course?

In Georgia, if you're under 17, after you finish the Joshua's Law course, you must complete either 6 hours of drivers training with a DDS-licensed driving school and 40 hours of supervised driving afterwards (with a licensed driver), or you can do 40 hours of parent-supervised driving (including 6 hours at night) with completion of the Parent-Teen Driving Guide.

16. Will I need to take a high school drivers ed class in addition this course?

No. The LearnersPermit.com Georgia drivers ed course gives you everything you need to complete drivers education.

17. What's included in the LearnersPermit.com course fee?

The $49 course fee includes everything you need to complete your drivers education course online as well as earn a DDS-recognized Certificate of Completion (mailed by First Class Mail or emailed to you completely free). Should you decide to receive a mailed version of your certificate, you can also choose to upgrade your Certificate of Completion shipment for faster delivery if you want.

18. How do I pay for the course?

Once you create an account, you can pay online using VISA or MasterCard. You can also pay by credit card over the phone by calling our customer service at 1-877-410-2454.

Please note that prepaid debit/gift cards issued by VISA, MasterCard, etc., cannot be used online. Please call us, and we'll be happy to process your payment.

If you would like to pay by check or money order, please mail your payment and along with your username to:

Attn: Billing Dept.
P.O. Box 61203
Sunnyvale, CA 94088-1203

19. Is it safe to use my credit card online?

Yes. We use only the latest security technology to protect your Internet transactions. To ensure your privacy, your credit card number is never kept on file, and we'll never share your information with anyone else.

20. What is the refund policy for the Georgia drivers education course?

While we're sure that you'll enjoy the Georgia LearnersPermit.com program, if for some reason you would like a refund, you can request one, subject to the refund policy set forth below.

LearnersPermit.com will issue a full tuition refund:

  • If you have not completed the online program and a Certificate of Completion has not been issued.

LearnersPermit.com will not issue refunds:

  • If the online program has been completed and a Certificate of Completion has been issued and mailed out.

To request a refund, please contact us toll free at 1-877-410-2454.

More questions? Comments?

Give us a call or email us. We'd love to hear from you.

Phone: 1-877-410-2454 (toll-free)

Email: info@learnerspermit.com